Hayward Air Rally

Please support our

Without their support this rally would not be possible!

2001 Course

2001 Logo


2001 Hayward Proficiency Race Course

Each of the race's two legs includes:

  • 1 Start Point
  • 3 Mandatory Checkpoints
  • 1 Bonus Checkpoint
  • 1 Timing Point
  • 1 Stop Point

The checkpoints, and therefore the course, change every year.  Only the start (HWD), the fuel/lunch stop (BFL) and the end (IFP) points remain the same.  The required and bonus checkpoints are announced the day before the race (see the race schedule) at the briefing and are documented in the race booklet provided to each team.  The exact course flown is chosen by the pilot of each aircraft.  Remember, this is not a speed race, it is a proficiency race; accuracy counts.

Checkpoints are to be overflown by race aircraft. Each checkpoint can be adequately identified from the air. The two timing points at Checkpoint Mike and Checkpoint Bette are also overflown and race officials on the ground will record the time overhead the timing line.

The 2001 course is described here to provide an example only, the 2002 course will be different, and will not be announced until the day before the race during the briefings.  The 2001 course included the following checkpoints and stops:

  • Hayward (HWD) - Race Starts
  • Turlock (O15)
  • San Luis Reservoir 37-04.2N, 121-08.0W
  • Bonus #1: El Peco (29Q)
  • New Coalinga (C80)
  • Checkpoint Mike (35-33.5N, 119-11.6W) - Timing Point
  • Bakerfield Meadows (BFL) - Landing, Fuel and Lunch
  • Tehachapi (TSP)
  • Agua Dulce (L70)
  • Barstow Dagget (DAG)
  • Bonus #2: Kelso 35-01.1N, 115-38.9W
  • Checkpoint Bette (35-00.1N, 114-38.5W) - Timing Point
  • Bullhead/Laughlin (IFP) - Landing, Fuel, Race Ends
2001 Course


Each checkpoint has a question to be answered to ensure positive identification. A typical checkpoint question looks like this:

Checkpoint Image


The Tehachapi checkpoint looked like this from the air:

Checkpoint Question

So, the answer was, K, on both ends.