Hayward Air Rally

Please support our

Without their support this rally would not be possible!

2022 - 58th Annual Hayward Air Rally - Course Information

2021 T-Shirt

The 2022 Hayward Air Rally was held June 4, 2022. 
The destination this year was Bend Oregon.  Sadly we had to cancel the second leg of the course due to weather.

Congratulations to our 2022 Winners:

Race 8  Rob Kirkpatrick and Chris Lea

Race 8

Click on these links to download PDF versions of the final score sheets:

Here's the 2022 Photo Gallery

Each of the Rally's two legs each include:

  • 1 Start Point
  • 3 Mandatory Checkpoints
  • 1 Bonus Checkpoint
  • 1 Timing Point
  • 1 Stop Point

The checkpoints, and therefore the course, change every year.  The required checkpoints which define the course are announced the day before the race (see the race schedule) at the briefing and are documented in the race book provided to each team.  The exact course flown is chosen by the pilot of each aircraft.  Remember, this is not a speed race, it is a proficiency event; accuracy counts.

So that prospective racers can get better idea of the materials provided during the briefing, a PDF copy of the 2022 Race Book is available for download here.

Checkpoints are to be overflown by Rally aircraft. Each checkpoint can be adequately identified from the air and a multiple choice question must be answered to prove that you properly identified each checkpoint. The answers to the 2022 checkpoint questions are here.

The two airborne timing points at Checkpoint Howie and Checkpoint Goering are also overflown and Rally officials on the ground will record the time overhead the timing line.  In 2022 we used custom built ADS-B data loggers (we call it the RallyAware, based on the PiAware project) to more precise calculate timing line crossings based on aircraft-generated position reports.

The 2022 course is described here to provide an example only, the 2023 course will be different, and will not be announced until shortly before the race during the briefing.

The 2022 course included the following checkpoints and stops:

The planned 2022 course:
Leg 1 Route:
2022 Leg 1

Leg2 Route (cancelled due to weather):
Leg 2

Actual route flown by the racers:

2022 Tracks

2022 Logo